United Kingdom Opens ePassport to More Countries

As air travel increasingly transitions towards greater use of mobile devices and paperless options, the United Kingdom is keeping up with the times by adopting greater use of ePassport at its entry points. This option will be open to citizens of various countries including South Korea, the United States, New Zealand, Singapore, Japan, Canada, and Australia.

With the adoption of ePassport, entry from countries deemed low risk will be significantly eased and sped up. Users simply need to go to the ePassport self-service kiosk which then uses facial recognition technology to verify the traveler’s identity against their ePassport. These ePassports (which were formerly limited to U.K. and European Union nationals) contain electronic chips that hold the traveler’s biometric and personal information.

In addition to the ePassport changes, the U.K. government has also gotten rid of the requirement to fill out a landing card for travelers arriving from beyond the European Economic Area—the EU, in addition to Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

This update is by Brickell Travel, a travel management company which also specializes in the corporate travel management industry in South Florida. As a market leader, we believe that we are the fusion between personalized service and top notch technology for travel management. As a privately owned company, we have experienced massive growth and today we are a business travel industry leader with annual sales surpassing $100 million. For more information on the best travel agency Miami company or for any questions about leisure travel management, please call 305-856-8889.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.